Monday:
Been all
over Rome today! Had a brilliant time even if it’s absolutely freezing outside,
apart from in the sun! Love the sun! So warm and beautiful… Anyway, we walked
to the Coliseum, Maxxi, the roman bath houses and the Circus Maximus. All of
which were completely closed! Apparently even the sight of snow causes most of
Rome inhabitants to fall over, making almost every area of interest a threat to
the public.
There was
also a mix-up with some trains, but all in all the day was what I would
consider a success! We didn’t freeze and we learnt a lot about the places we
went to, even if we didn’t actually get in to any of them. Also, we discovered
a beautiful place to have dinner just two steps (literally) outside the front
door!
Tuesday:
Today, we visited the Vatikan! It was absolutely brilliant! We had to walk for ages (4 hours), but it was completely worth it! We saw paintings by Michelangelo, Raphael, Leonardo Da Vinci, Caravaggio, Giotto and Perugino! The Sistine Chapel was absolutely breath-taking! Thanks to our guide as well! Learnt loads of things from her!
Tried to go shopping today, but we made the mistake of trying to visit all the shops, ended up just going home. Still had a good time, just ended up exhausted!
Wednesday:
Today, we met the Pope! He called out our school and blessed us all! Then we splitt up and saw different things, my group went to EUR to see the buildings that Mussolini started working on (they were finished after his death) and were going to go to a museum, but surprise, it was closed! So we ended up having a bit of free time to do what we wanted! Then, at 7, we all met up again and left for the "Hard Rock Cafe" in Rome! Very cool! Tomorrow, we're off to the Colosseum again, and hopefully it will be open!
P.S. The reason we haven't been blogging is because we haven't had any internet at all! At the moment I am writing this from an entirely different hotell! Just so you know :)